Showing posts with label 5 miles. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 5 miles. Show all posts

Saturday, May 25, 2013

Creature of habit

Pre-run photo. Please forgive the funny face. The sun was brutal!

I am a creature of habit. I think most runners are. We eat the same things before long runs/races. We do the same things on race morning to prepare. We have the same routine to prepare for a run. Once we find something that works, we keep it up.

Today, I was scheduled for 8 miles as my last run before Zooma Annapolis next Sat. (June 1). I had it played out in my head - where I would run, which direction I would go in. how far out before turning back. As I came to the cross street where my parking lot is, I was stopped. There was a 5k going on and I was being redirected. I couldn't park in my lot. I couldn't start my run at it's normal spot.

I was re-directed away from the race, so I parked my car in the next town over where I was planning on going. But, I had no idea what to do with myself. I had never done this before. I always run to Mt. Wolf, not start there.

And here is why I say I'm a creature of habit. I had to figure out an 8 mile run on the fly. Yea...it didn't work. I managed to find 2 miles, then turned around for 2 more bringing me up to 4. Yea! Just 4 more to go. But, now I had no idea how to get those 4 more miles. I tried. I managed one more mile before becoming so frustrated with the run, my time, and my hamstring that I stopped. I went back to the car. I came home.

Oh that hamstring comment? Yea. My right hamstring, right behind my knee hurt randomly throughout my run. It's the same hamstring I pulled back in 2010 after I ran the Baltimore Marathon Relay. It's the leg that my herniated disc effects. I have one week until Zooma Annapolis (have I mentioned this?) and I will not mess around.

So, today's run was not what I wanted. It was slower than I hoped. It was a bit more painful than I anticipated. It was frustrating. What I'm hoping is that it gets the bad run out of the way. This got the kinks out and come next Saturday while I'm running around Annapolis, I will have a great run! It will show today what a good run is.

But it sure does suck on the day of the crappy run....

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Pettit National Ice Center

Pettit National Ice Center

Saturday morning is long run day. This week long run means 5 miles. Just because I'm in Wisconsin doesn't mean I'm not running it! My friend Kim is the one who convinced me I could run. That I could race. So, this morning we're heading to the Pettit National Ice Center to run. She's got 18 miles to run and I've got 5. Wow. That sounds pathetic... She's in training for a marathon, so her long run should be longer. This is how I'm making myself feel better after realizing how sad my 5 miles is...

We'll be running here

No bibs for us, but we'll be running around the ice rink. I'm looking forward to running a track that has an ice rink in the middle! Until I went searching for a photo, I honestly anticipated the track being raised above the ice. This should be fun!

I may go more than 5 miles just because Kim has so many miles to go. But, I'd be fine doing my 5 and waiting for her to finish. I love trying new things!

Monday, September 14, 2009

Great Running News (a day late)

I am running in Al's Run 8k on October 8th in Milwaukee, WI. We are on vacation then, but since we are visiting friends who were already running it, we decided to join them. In order to do so, I would have to train to run it, since my furthest run had only been 3.25 miles. I have been working hard the last few weeks to get to 5 miles. This past Sunday I did it! I ran 5 miles at the park!! I was so excited! I had a plan and while I fell a little behind last week, I was still able to stay on track this week and do 4.5 laps = to 5 miles. Woohoo! I can run Al's Run! Now it's a matter of getting that 1:17:52 time down. :-)